DIY Bow Heels Anklets

Image

Another addition to The Collection? Nope! Just a trendy DIY on a dime!

Ya’ll know that I never spend money if I can avoid it! I never pay retail for anything, and if I can do it myself, I will! So when I needed to do something new with my classic black pumps, I went to my favorite Pinterest board “Let’s Do It!” for some instant inspiration. When I saw this genius post, I knew I’d found the perfect thing!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3 yards of black grosgrain ribbon 1 1/2 in. thick
  • Sticky backed black velcro pieces
  • Hot glue gun and glue sticks
  • Clear nail polish
  • Scissors
  • Measuring tape or ruler
  • Your favorite black pumps

IMG_1911

 Gather your supplies and cut two 38 inch sections out of your ribbon. These pieces will be your bows.

IMG_1914

If you want, you can snip the ends into little V shapes like I did here. I literally just eyeballed this. The point of each V is an inch deep, if that helps. I also did this (below), so the ends would be even.

IMG_1916

Then, coat the raw edges of your ribbon in clear nail polish to prevent fraying.

IMG_1919

They will dry in just a couple of minutes.

IMG_1912Now for the tying! Lay out your ribbon in an “M” shape like this, with two big loops on the endsIMG_1924Next, cross the two loops over each other to tie them the way you would any other bow.

IMG_1925

You will end up with something like this.

IMG_1926That’s okay, just do some pulling, tugging, and rearranging and you will end up with a perfect bow like this.

IMG_1913Repeat these steps for the other bow! Then take the rest of the ribbon, and measure out how much you need for the actual anklet by wrapping it around your ankle with the shoes on. It seems crude, I know, but I found it to be the best way to get the exact length you need. It should be low on your ankle, so you can’t tell that it’s not actually attached to your shoe. Also, the ribbon should be nicely snug, so that it doesn’t wiggle out of place too much while your walking. Then seal the ends of those pieces too.

Now attach two pieces of the same side of velcro to one end of your ribbon like so. Put the other side of those velcro pieces on top of them with the sticky side up, to be sure that they line up exactly. Then fold over the ribbon to form a circle, and press the other end down onto the sticky side of the velcro.

IMG_1929

It should now look like this:

IMG_1930Now to attach your bow! Put a dot of hot glue on the end of your ribbon like this:

IMG_1931and attach your bow! Press it down firmly into the hot glue for a few seconds to ensure a strong bond.

IMG_1932You just crafted yourself practically a fresh new pair of shoes, for like $7, in 20 minutes! Look at you go!

IMG_1933Thank you so much for reading this! I hope you decide to try out this DIY. If you do, feel free to send me some pics! I would seriously, absolutely love to see it!

Taylor, with Love

IMG_1942

5 thoughts on “DIY Bow Heels Anklets

Leave a Reply

