Top 5 painting tips that saved my life.

IMG_2157     Painting is done, and I am moving in! Hallelujah!

So in case you didn’t know, I am smack in the middle of a major redecorating project. I am moving my bedroom to the spare room of the house. Which meant major cleaning out and re-painting and the whole shi-bang. So while I was painting I used a few key tips that I thought I would share to make your next project a little bit simpler.

IMG_21911.Remove your hardware. (note the outlet without a cover)

It seems obvious, I know but it really saves you so much time in the long run. The last time I painted a room I didn’t think to unscrew the light switch covers or outlet covers or anything. So not only did I have to tape all those pesky little things, I had to try to get paint off of the ones that I didn’t want to tape… Just remember to tape the screws onto the cover before you lose them!

IMG_21992. Remove your tape while the paint is still wet.

Speaking of tape…and again obvious. (It says to do this in the directions on the back of the tape.) But it really makes all the difference. You get such a clean line when you take it off right away. If you forget and take it off when the paint is dry, you get a bit of a mess.

IMG_21933. Go around the edges of the wall with your paintbrush first, and then fill in the center with your roller.

I actually did not use this tip, but now I wish that I had. It would have been so much easier to get in there with that brush without worrying about smudging the wet wall. Not to mention trying to blend out the overlap lines.

IMG_21634. Use dry cleaning bags as drop cloths.

No need for you to spend half of your paint budget on drop cloths! $5-$10 for a tarp to drip paint on? I think they’ve been breathing in too many fumes! Just grab those old dry cleaning bags out of your closet. They aren’t supposed to still be on your clothes anyway! Peel them in half along the seam, and there you go 🙂

IMG_21595. If you wrap your brush or roller tightly in plastic and stick it in the fridge, the paint won’t dry!

Dun, dun, dun!! This is the single most genius tip ever. Just stick your brush in a ziplock, stick it in the back of your fridge until your ready to finish your project. And its ready when you are. No messy, complicated cleanup necessary. It should stay moist for up to two weeks. I also put plastic bags over my paint tray. No cleanup there either!

So that’s what I learned on my painting adventure. A little bit of sage advice, a little bit of just follow the directions. Hope this helps you out, and please let me know what your favorite tips are!

Until next time.

  Taylor, with Love

One thought on “Top 5 painting tips that saved my life.

Leave a Reply

